Picture
    Huge crowds in the Vatican cheered Pope Benedict XVI on
Wednesday as he made his first public appearance since announcing his
resignation at the end of the month.
He thanked the Roman Catholic
faithful in several languages and said it was not appropriate for him to
continue as pope. "I've decided to resign the
ministry given to me by the Lord. 
    I've done this in full freedom, for the
benefit of the church," he told those gathered in a Vatican City audience hall  for his regular weekly appearance. Benedict said he is fully aware
of the gravity of his decision but he could not carry on as pope "I don't
have the strength that it requires."

    I sort of think there is a side story to this but I could be wrong.  He could have resigned on his own free will, but it sort of makes you think what made him decide that he needed to retire beside age.  The next question is why did he resign right before Ash Wednesday, but the real question is who is going to be the next Pope.

~CNN~

Colby Klipping
2/14/2013 04:30:41 am

The pope XVI lasted for a long time. This is a good report. I never knew this much about the Pope! Good Job!

Reply
TOM
2/14/2013 04:46:20 am

I think that this is a very inteesting article. It is crazy how the pope is retiring. Considering they usually just die it is an interesting twist on things. I also think that it is a good thing that he thanked all of his followers. This was an interesting article.

Reply
Reese
2/14/2013 04:58:43 am

Nice article. I think that it is crazy that he is the first pope to resign since 600 years. I don't know if he just got sick of being pope, or if it is actually for good causes. This is an interresting topic!

Reply



Leave a Reply.